Landmark Preservation Commission

Landmark Preservation Commission plaqueThe function of the Landmark Preservation Commission is to designate, preserve, enhance, and perpetuate structures or districts that have architectural, historical, or geographical significance within the city of Denver.  

Agenda items for consideration can include the following:

  • Recommendations to City Council on historic designations
  • Design review for new construction, alterations, demolitions and zone lot amendments for designated historic  properties/districts
  • Review of historic rehabilitation tax credit projects
  • Adoption of policies and procedures related to historic preservation


View the Landmark Preservation Commission's consent agenda policy.

Enabling Authority: 
Denver Revised Municipal Code (DRMC) Chapter 30

Landmark Preservation Commission Bylaws (PDF) (last update July 20, 2010)

Commission Members - Click to view biographies and term limits

 Member  Nominated By Term Expires 
 Sharon Elfenbein  History Colorado  March 31, 2016
 Andy Duckett-Emke  American Institute of Architects  March 31, 2018
 Abigail Christman  History Colorado  March 31, 2017
 Martin Goldstein (Chair)  Denver Planning Board  March 31, 2018
 Ryan Holdorf  American Society of Landscape Architects  March 31, 2018
 Douglas Walter  American Institute of Architects  March 31, 2017
 Charles Jordy (Vice-chair) Denver Planning Board  March 31, 2016
 Kathleen Corbett  At Large  March 31, 2018
 Amy Zimmer  At Large  March 31, 2016

Preparing for Meetings

Presentation Materials 
Download the Policy for Applicant Presentations (PDF) to learn more about preparing your presentation for the Landmark Preservation Commission (LPC) and the Lower Downtown Design Review Board (LDDRB).

What to Expect at the Meetings
Download the the handout What to Expect at a Landmark Preservation Commission Meeting (PDF) to become more familiar with the standard procedures.

Comments from the Public
To speak at LPC meetings or submit written comments on agenda items, see LPC Public Comment Policy (PDF).

Note: All files are in PDF format


August 4 agenda (PDF):

July 21 agenda (PDF):

Landmark Preservation Commission meetings are held the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month at 1 p.m. 

  • Location:
    Webb Municipal Office Building
    201 W Colfax Avenue 
    Room 4.F.6 and 4.G.2 

  • The commission is made up of nine members who serve three-year terms. They receive no compensation.

    The commission generally meets the first and third Tuesday of each month. Submission deadlines are three weeks prior to the scheduled meeting date.

    Want to serve on the commission?
    If you are interested in serving on the Landmark Preservation Commission, contact the Denver Boards and Commissions office for more information and an application form.

    Contact Us

    Landmark Preservation Office:


    Members are appointed by the mayor and must include the following:

    • two recommended by Denver's American Institute of Architecture 
    • two recommended by the Colorado Historical Society 
    • two recommended by the Planning Board 
    • two at-large members 
    • one member appointed by the American Society of Landscape Architects

    Members must be residents of the city of Denver.